Home -> Study Abroad -> Study in Ireland -> Ireland Education System

Ireland Education System

Want to study in UK?

If you have any questions regarding any of our services please fill out the form below and I’ll get back to you as soon as possible.

Ireland Education System

Education System in Ireland

The National Framework of Qualifications was launched in 2003. The National Qualifications Authority of Ireland is an agency of the Department of Education and Skills and the Department of Enterprise, Trade and Innovation and was set up in February 2001. It has responsibility for developing and maintaining the National Framework of Qualifications and has three principal objects which are set out in the Qualifications (Education & Training) Act 1999: 

  1.  the establishment and maintenance of a framework of qualifications for the development, recognition and award of qualifications based on standards of knowledge, skill or competence to be acquired by learners
  2. the establishment and promotion of the maintenance and improvement of the standards of awards of the further and higher education and training sector, other than in the existing universities.
  3. the promotion and facilitation of access, transfer and progression throughout the span of education and training provision

 Levels for which students from India can apply for student visas

  • NFQ Level 7 = Ordinary Bachelor Degree (3 years duration)
  • NFQ Level 8 = Honours Bachelor Degree (3-4 years duration)
  • NFQ Level 8 = Higher Diploma (1 year duration)
  • NFQ Level 9 = Postgraduate Diploma (1 year duration)
  • NFQ Level 9 = Masters Degree (1-2 years duration)
  • NFQ Level 10 = Doctoral Degree (approximately 4 years duration)

There are 6 awarding bodies in Ireland.